Total Pageviews

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Equivalent Canonization

From Catholic Culture:

Blessed Jose de Anchieta
 Pope Francis recently told a group of Spanish bishops that he would canonize three saints by equivalent canonization on April 2, according to a report on a Spanish diocesan website. 
Blessed Marie of the Incarnation
 The three are Blessed José de Anchieta (1534-97), a Spanish Jesuit missionary to Brazil; Blessed Marie of the Incarnation (1599-1672), who introduced the Ursuline order in Canada; and who introduced the Discalced Carmelite reform in France; and Blessed François de Laval (1623-1708), the first bishop of Quebec. 
Blessed Francois Laval

In equivalent canonization-- a procedure described by Pope Benedict XIV in the eighteenth century-- the Pope waives the usual judicial process and declares that a blessed’s liturgical cult is extended to the universal Church. 

 Interesting fact:

June 22, 1980...François de Laval was beatified by Pope John Paul II in St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome. At the same ceremony, the “Blessed” designation is also granted to Marie de l’Incarnation and Kateri Tekakwitha.

I wonder if Kateri is rethinking the whole miracle thing?